You are here: Home News and Events 2011 News Nina Fedoroff and Hong Ma named Fellows of AAAS

Nina Fedoroff and Hong Ma named Fellows of AAAS

Main Content

Nina Fedoroff, Evan Pugh Professor of Life Sciences and the Verne M. Willaman Chair in Life Sciences , and Hong Ma, Distinguished Professor of Biology, were both named Fellows of the Amercian Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) in January 2011.

The American Association for the Advancement of Science is the world's largest general scientific society and the publisher of the journal Science. Election as an AAAS Fellow is an honor bestowed upon members by their peers. This year, 503 Fellows were selected for their scientifically or socially distinguished efforts to advance science or its applications. The Fellows will receive certificates and pins during the AAAS meeting in Washington, D.C. in February.

Fedoroff is honored for her pioneering research in the fields of plant genetics, plant responses to environmental stress, and genetically modified crops.

Ma is honored for distinguished contributions to the field of reproductive plant biology, particularly for molecular genetics of flower development, anther differentiation, and meiosis in Arabidopsis -- small flowering plants related to cabbage and mustard that are used extensively in plant research.